2015 Discussion Challange: Genres

dcg

 

Hey ponies!

I almost forgot about the discussion challenge this month…

oops

 

But this mouth has been hectic. Anyway ’nuff about me let’s get into this discussion.

 

So this post isn’t going to be a genre vs genre post. We are just going to discuss why we like the genre we write.

I write mainly contemporary. (Which I always misspell. Yeah for Google…)

Why you ask?

First off not so much planning and researching. With a fantasy you have to create a culture, historical you have to research the times but with contemporary. We live in that time.

But that’s not saying that contemporary writers don’t research.  I have a character that lives in Beverly Hills California and another that lives in Lumby B.C. And I don’t live anywhere close to any of those places. Google Maps is awesome for researching in cities I’ve never been to.

But planning for a fantasy is so much fun!  I was plotting for a dystopian with vampires and werewolves, and I drew out the capital city, made a language  (So much fun! I might share it with you sometime…), figure out how non-human creatures work, the culture…

cat11

 

 

What about you?

 What genre do you write (or read) and why?

signture1 (1)

8 thoughts on “2015 Discussion Challange: Genres

  1. I think I probably lean towards writing fantasy. I tend to be able to immerse myself in a world quite easily and I love to read fantasy too! I’ve tried writing contemporary and it kind of ends up with them being chased by magic. That doesn’t sound like any contemporary I know… 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up #7: Happy Easter! | Horse Feathers

Leave a Reply

